Disney Week Day 7: Bad Disney

Ok I tried to find something beyond awesome and perfect for the last day. But the truth is, I’m a Disney fan so pretty much anything it produces is perfect (as far as Disney animation studios go, don’t mix it with the Disney Channel horrors), or almost perfect in the end for me. So I decided for your sake to show an ugly and bad side of Disney today.

During WWII our beloved (shush, bear with me) evil corporation was down in the gutter and hurting for money. So, as these things usually go for the big and powerful, they tried to make the best of a really bad situation. They created (after being approached by the American military offices) propagandistic cartoons for the American government, trying to increase people’s support of “America goes to war”. The money they made from these short films not only saved them from bankruptcy they also increased their popularity as a film studio.

I found one of those short animations a while ago and I must say I was horrified. It’s not the way it’s made, they make fun of the Nazi’s, it’s the message and it’s bearer. First of all, Nazi’s are not a subject to make fun of (the way racists grow in numbers in my country is terrifying so I can’t see the joke) and second of all, to see Donald Duck, of all characters, trying to convey a message of war was shocking. He represented innocence to me, he is part of my childhood and of countless other children he is not supposed to talk about war and nationalism, it’s wrong.

So long prologue ends here, sorry for the delay, here is the cartoon to end my Disney week. Here’s to a nice Monday people!

Leave a Reply

