Must see

I both love and hate this short film. It is without a doubt one of the best works of animation I have ever seen. It is flawless in every respect. But it is so deeply disturbing. I just can’t ignore the fact that I can hardly watch the last few minutes. Nevertheless it is a film worth seeing. Let me note here that it is a Polish film. That is an important fact to understand the meaning behind the film.

Poland has a very important position geographically. It has always been under the influence of either Germany or Russia (politically speaking). That fact has a great impact, I think, on the way Polish artists “speak” about authority. If you watch Polish animation you will see that authoritarian figures and the result of power on people is a recurring theme. They live in a society where there is always the shadow of a greater power above them, dictating their lives and decisions. It is not strange that they feel like simple pawns of a greater game, a game where their lives hold little or no value at all. And that such a game makes the players ruthless.
As a Greek citizent I believe I am now in a position to say that I can understand their feeling of powerlessness. Not that before the economical crisis I thought of myself as of some important figure in the greater scale of things. But one would think that a country cares for its people. That when things go bad the citizens can demand their rights and fight for them. I am not so naive anymore. I have reached a point in my life where I concider those who believe that they hold some sort of power over their lives fools. When in our society even our revolutions are sorted and calculated moves that are decided by some and executed by all I cannot believe in the power of a person as an individual.

One thought on “Must see

Leave a Reply

